Two Years

I don’t do this often, but given my schedule difficulties recently, I wanted to take this post to give a status update.

Today marks the two year anniversary of Sins of the Fathers, which is rather mind boggling. This milestone prompted me to look at what I have planned and made me realize something:

I’m halfway done.

To be honest, when I started this, I planned to take only about a year or so, but given the ambitiousness of the task, I’m not surprised (and very glad) it grew into something much larger than the original story I had planned. But that said…

After I finish this arc, I still have six or seven arcs planned, not including side-stories and any other plot lines that I make the mistake of introducing. Ar nine chapters per arc plus three interlude chapters between, at one chapter a week, including the rest of this arc, that’s almost two more years.

I don’t know if I want to keep doing this for that long. I love writing, and I love the superhero genre, but I’m getting tired of these characters, the limitations of this setting, and honestly, being associated with the really shitty writing first few arcs.  Despite two years of writing, I’m getting beat out on top web fiction by people who have been at it for only a few weeks, which is frustrating, and the stress of academics on top of trying to keep a schedule is very difficult. I’ll be honest, this started out as little more than bad Worm fan fiction, but I like to think it’s taken on a life of its own. That, unfortunately, is part of the problem, as the scope of what I have planned grows at about the same rate as what I have written.

Beyond that, I don’t want to wait that long to be able to work on my other ideas. Ashes and Dust (my diesel-punk western/great depression with elemental magic frame story) and Sufficiently Advanced Technology (a cyberpunk heist story) are itching to be written, but all my writing time is devoted to Sins of the Fathers.

I don’t really know what this means for Sins of the Fathers. I’ll probably have to take a hiatus for a little while (I promise it’ll be shorter than my last one) to regain my sanity and do a little personal stuff (though I do plan to finish Shadows of Giants first). I don’t think I’m going to abandon it entirely, because I owe you readers who stuck with it some resolution. For now, I’m going to stick with it and try to get this arc finished. I may have to shift to a  semi-weekly schedule so I can actually be satisfied with my writing quality, but I’ll get it done. After that… I have an interlude I can put up, and Archangel 4 is still in the queue. But then, it’s anybody’s guess. I may take a break and rewrite the first arc or two to be not completely awful. I may get out a draft of Sufficiently Advanced Technology. We’ll see, I guess.

So no chapter today, I guess. I did an editing pass on the previous chapter, and I think it flows better now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Two Years

  1. taulsn says:

    Congrats on two years. I do know the feeling of being overtaken on TWF by someone who just started (even if I only started recentlyish myself). I haven’t even been at this a year and I’m already planning out my next project.

    Do what you need to do.

  2. Kenneth says:

    Amazing story so far. Don’t worry so much about your place on a list, something new is written and people get all ‘Johnny-come-lately’ about it. I for one enjoy your stories, and have recommended Sins of the Fathers to my friends. Keep up the good work 🙂

  3. Charles Rowan says:

    My only advice is to take a breather, every project is always bigger than what we imagine, I started writting a book in september, I thought I was going to be able to finish in a month but real life happens and ideas keep coming to my mind so i’m near the end of october and i’m not even to the half of the book.

    I do like your story, I do hope that you finish it, but if you start other stories please tell us.

  4. mbwakalione says:

    So i kinda feel bad, i consider this to be my favorite internet storie but i just realised ive done little to suport you, i dont comment much and i hardly ever vote .

    But i realy like this storyline, the charcters fell real, its interesting , i get realy excited when u update. The idea of you droping this is sadness.
    As much as i would like to urge you to finish, i gotta say , if you arent haveing fun then stop, go do some thing you like instead. You can always come back.

    Ps shadow is my favourite superhero of all tym

  5. DeNarr says:

    To be fair you’re also beating out some people who have been writing for longer than you as well. I don’t really use TWF, I instead hit sites based on recommendations from other authors I read. I can say I really like your story, in particular I like Will. To be fair and constructive though, if I were to regularly vote, I would likely vote for the stories that are more frequent in their updates. Daily or even every other day manage to keep my interest flowing better than weekly stories.

    • Fair point…thanks. I guess I’ve been putting. Too much stock in twf.

      • Michael says:

        All things considered, it’s quite a niche site. Less than 2000 people voting every week, I’d say. I’d go so far as to recommend using one of those productivity things to block it, if it’s really getting you down – remember we love your writing.
        Plus, those first couple of arcs? A little bit bland, some derivative elements, but pretty good overall and nowhere near as bad as you make them out to be. I’d recommend moving forward with whatever makes you want to write, the positive stuff. If it’s a new story, we’d love to see. If you don’t want to serialize it online, great as well. If you want to take a break, have a week or four of only the stress of school and life, also great.
        Also, I recommend the Writing Excuses podcast which is filled with tons of juicy tidbits by professional writers, and only fifteen minutes an episode, with several seasons behind them. Good to relax, good to learn, good to inspire.

      • I suppose you’re right. Thanks for the encouragement, and the advice. I’ll have to check Writing Excuses out.

      • Thank you very much for directing me to Writing Excuses. I’ve been reading stuff by these authors for years and I had no idea they do a podcast together.
        Unfortunately, this also means that I have nothing to put up today, as I hit a point where I suddenly realized I hadn’t decided what would happen yet. Temple sun was not intended to play as large a role as they are, and that’s messing with my planning.

      • DeNarr says:

        I know it sucks when it messes with your flow, but I honestly love it when that type of thing happens. The story gets so real, that it ends up pulling you along, rather than you directing it. Sometimes you just need to let it take you where it will, then when it’s done you can see where you are, and where you need to go from there. 🙂

      • Michael says:

        No problem, hope it helps

  6. Charles Rowan says:

    I think this will show my ignorance, what is TWF? I came here because i saw another author recommending you, and i do like your story

    • Michael says:

      Top web fiction. Basically, you can vote for your favourite stories there, and they’re ranked. Also, you can vote for as many stories as you want, the little blurb refers to the story you’re currently voting for.

  7. Arlysian says:

    Hey mate, I haven’t commented before but on top of this I just wanted to say that I really hope that you do not pause this or throw it in the gutter, because it’s honestly one of the best super hero Web fictions i have read. It’s up there along with Worm and the Legion of Nothing for me. Yes I even like the first chapters.

  8. Michael says:

    Hey, any update on how the writing muscles are flexing?

    • Got something in the works. I had to take a little break to rework my planning to incorporate the new elements I’ll be introducing. I also spent a little bit doing some character work practice and doing some prep for a game of Mutants and Masterminds I’m going to be running for some friends. Now that that’s set up, I should be able to get back to work.

      That said, in about a week or two, I’m going to have tech week for the show I’m in, so I’m going to vanish for a week. Expect the schedule to remain rocky for a little bit, then resume regularity once the show’s over.

      • Michael says:

        Sounds good, thanks for everything you’ve done on the story thus far. I’m looking forward to what’s coming!

Leave a Reply

